Fun Fact #1

There’s so much about me that I don’t think people know. You’d think I’m talking about personal matters, but it’s actually just things I enjoy in general; my appreciations.

Lately, the only show I’ve been watching is Oddities. If you haven’t heard of or seen it, I suggest you just watch an episode or two. It’s really interesting to see that people collect such strange things, or the fact that these items even cost so much. But for me, it’s not so much the pieces that weird me out, but more so the ones who come into the shops looking for something specific or have acquired something that makes you wonder, “What’re you doing with that in the first place?” I get that there are eccentric people out there, but I really do question what sparks a person’s interests.

As for myself, there are possibly quite a few things that I absolutely adore that others may not. Not many know that I went through a dark period in my life, and when I say “dark”, I’m talking about my punk phase. Ha. Black clothing, skater shoes and that IDGAF attitude. That sums up my middle school years and nowadays, I’m not ashamed of it. I still relive those years through all my CDs, but that’s besides the point. I’ve always had a morbid kind of place in my heart, which probably feeds into my fondness for vampires. Jk.

No, but really. At one point in my life, I really considered getting my mortuary license and even possibly attending the Dallas Institute of Funeral Services. Whenever I first mentioned this to people, one of their first reactions was, “You want to work with dead people?” Well, yes. Many people see this as some type of taboo. But how I see it, funerals are meant to remember the life of someone who just passed away. It’s almost like a bittersweet goodbye to this person who has made some impact in your life. I’d like to think that the idea [of funerals] is to mourn the loss of an individual, but also celebrate the life they had lived. With that, funeral directors hold this position of recreating the person who everyone once knew and present them one last time… almost like a last look.

Another reason why I would not have minded being an embalmer was because, at one point in my life (if you hadn’t noticed — there a plenty of points in my life), I wanted to be a surgeon. I was never fond of science as I grew up, until my senior year of high school when I took Anatomy & Physiology. It was because of that class that I had felt invincible towards science. Yeah… wrong. But my reasoning for choosing to be an embalmer versus a surgeon was determined just by one thing: life. Surgeons work under the constant pressure of making sure they don’t mess up with someone’s life, literally, in their hands; whereas, an embalmer doesn’t.

Now… where was I going with all of this?

Right. Oddities.

So while I’m watching this show, I was thinking about how I would definitely want to step foot into these kind of shops and browse around. Not sure if I’d actually purchase anything because I have this thing about buying items that were previously owned by someone else (haven’t y’all seen ‘the Possession’?). I have toyed with the idea of having a human skull in my possession, though. It would definitely be a conversation starter; but because I tend to base things on movies, I can’t have a headless horseman coming around trying to retrieve his head back. So perhaps I’ll just stick with fake skulls or maybe even consider a longhorn skull (I’m such a Texan enthusiast) just to be safe.

Leave a Reply

