Analogy.

I’ve never been on a roller coaster in my life. I usually tell people it’s simply because I have a heart problem. Indeed, I do, but I doubt my heart problem will be the death of me if I were to ever ride one. If anything, it would be because my body somehow doesn’t know to how plaster itself to a seat as the ride plunges downwards. It’s always something I’ve realized every time I’ve been on those wet, moldy rides at Six Flags; I’m always gripping the bar for dear life while the rest of my body is disagreeing and slowly pulls upwards, as if it understands that maybe this “dear life” I’m trying to save isn’t worth anything.

Several times in my life, my emotions have gone through these “roller coaster rides” with different individuals, though not all at the same time. These “rides” all represent each person differently; each symbolizing the many different peaks of our relationship… friendship… or whatever it was.

I can only imagine the anticipation people have once they approach these rides; anxiousness, excitement and even fear. But we’re never too sure of the outcome until it’s over, right? I would assume that the wait for these rides are always longer than the ride itself and that’s the shitty part about it. Everyone is always up for the ride, but they never want it to end. That’s how it usually is. Once it’s over, it’s over.

Unless you’re the kind to jump back in line and wait all over again.

Even if I were to ever ride a roller coaster, I think one go at it would be enough for me. I don’t think my heart would be able to tolerate the adrenaline rush; in fact, it would probably just hurt my heart more than the first time.

But then again… I’ve never been on a roller coaster in my life.

Maybe it is worth the second time, maybe the third. Who knows. The one thing I do know is that as far as this analogy goes… I’ll be the one person standing in front of a roller coaster and just imagining what the whole ride would be like.

Leave a Reply

